Skip to content
← Back to the atlas

AirTrunk MEL1 Melbourne: facility evidence profile

AirTrunk · Australia

AirTrunk MEL1 Melbourne

Report an error or share evidence ↗

Melbourne, VIC · campus

Operating / built
Facility type
hyperscale
Location evidence
Approximate city location
Research status
Source-listed profile · 88% core-field coverage

Core-field coverage counts eight basic fields available in the Atlas. It is not an accuracy score or a measure of technical specification completeness. Individual evidence checks appear below.

Evidence by field

Evidence status applies to the named field and cited sources. “Not found” means those sources do not establish the fact; it does not establish absence.

Certification Source checked
AirTrunk Australia, MEL1: only the named Certified Strategic facility. This does not certify other buildings or the whole parent campus.Checked 2026-09-22 · Australian Government, Department of Home Affairs ↗
Capacity Source checked
Initial 5 MW IT plus separate 20 MW IT expansion are documented. Additional phase capacity remains unallocated.Checked 2026-09-22 · AirTrunk ↗ · CIO ↗ · AirTrunk ↗ · Capacity Media ↗ · AirTrunk ↗
Status Source checked
The initial site opened 16 November 2017; a further 20+ MW phase was completed in May 2023.Checked 2026-09-22 · AirTrunk ↗ · AirTrunk ↗

Opening & commissioning history

  • 2017-11-16 · Initial 5 MW IT tranche opens

    Primary opening date, initial IT load identified by CIO.

  • 2023-05 · 20 MW IT expansion completed

    Operator completion announcement; month and IT basis corroborated by Capacity Media.

Capacity & development

Operating / built5 MW

Power for servers, GPUs, storage & networking (IT power) · Source as of 2017-11-16

Initial 5 MW IT opening tranche. Later completed expansions are separate.

Operating / built≥ 20 MW

Power for servers, GPUs, storage & networking (IT power) · Source as of 2023-05

Completed May 2023 expansion added 20+ MW IT. This is a separate increment from the 2017 opening tranche.

Operating / builtNot disclosed

Power basis not established

Other campus phases are not yet separately quantified as completed IT load. The 25 MW subtotal is a documented lower bound, not the campus total.

Government certification

Certified Strategic facility

AirTrunk Australia, MEL1: only the named Certified Strategic facility. This does not certify other buildings or the whole parent campus.

What certification covers →

Scope and context

  • Map location, when supplied, represents the city rather than a verified facility coordinate.
  • Do not add Datacom's colocation service within this campus as another physical data centre.
  • Technical details reported by Data Center Map are shown separately from the Atlas's primary-source observations.
  • Directory reconciliation: Directory labels the MEL1 parent Facility, but explicitly has Building 1 and Building 2 children. Atlas correctly models the aggregate as campus; preserve that scope.
  • Directory reconciliation: The public publisher withholds exact location. This match uses named identity only and does not use hidden embedded coordinates or addresses.
  • At least 25 MW of completed IT capacity is documented in the initial 2017 tranche and May 2023 expansion. Later 185 MW and 276+ MW campus headlines include expansion scope.

Compute, workloads & commercial commitments

Facility specificationAustraliaReported observation

AirTrunk MEL1 Melbourne: disclosed development boundary

Do not label all 276 MW operating or all of it future capacity.

Disclosed campus specification
≥ 276 MW unspecified electrical boundary
ultimate-campus-including-operating; unknown
Evidence scope
Named facility · AirTrunk
Evidence as-of date
Applicable date not stated

How to read this: This observation has its own electrical and physical boundary. It is not an additional contribution to the comparable IT subtotal, a GPU count or a delivery forecast. Do not label all 276 MW operating or all of it future capacity.

Inspect the source
Link to this evidence ↗
Explore demand, compute types and commitments →

Evidence trail

  1. AirTrunk company history ↗

    AirTrunk · checked 2026-09-10

    Our history; Coming soon

  2. AirTrunk announces second Melbourne campus ↗

    AirTrunk · checked 2026-09-10 · published 2025-12-24

    Announcement and Australian campus capacity list

  3. AirTrunk Melbourne - MEL1 Campus: directory profile and specifications ↗

    Data Center Map · checked 2026-09-11

    Public listing 9645; overview, specs tabs. Address/location header and labelled technical specification rows.

  4. Certified Service Providers ↗

    Australian Government, Department of Home Affairs · checked 2026-09-22

    Data Centre facilities: Certified Strategic Facility and Certified Strategic Enclave lists

  5. Natural Earth populated places, 1:10m ↗

    Natural Earth · checked 2026-09-10

    Australia and New Zealand populated-place features

  6. Hosting Certification Framework: Certified Service Providers ↗

    Australian Government, Department of Home Affairs · checked 2026-09-22

    Data Centre facilities: Certified Strategic Facility and Certified Strategic Enclave lists; reform notice

  7. AirTrunk opens Melbourne’s largest hyperscale data centre campus ↗

    AirTrunk · checked 2026-09-22 · published 2017-11-16

    Dateline and opening paragraphs; ultimate capacity paragraph

  8. AirTrunk reveals new Sydney data centre ↗

    CIO · checked 2026-09-22 · published 2019-11-20

    Paragraph beginning MEL1, which is located in Derrimut

  9. AirTrunk MEL1 Melbourne 20+MW expansion completed ↗

    AirTrunk · checked 2026-09-22 · published 2023-05

    Opening completion statement and phase-four video; month corroborated by July 2024 Capacity report

  10. AirTrunk plans huge expansion of Melbourne campus ↗

    Capacity Media · checked 2026-09-22 · published 2024-07-01

    Paragraph beginning An additional expansion of the site; CEO expansion announcement

  11. AirTrunk expands MEL1 to 185MW capacity ↗

    AirTrunk · checked 2026-09-22

    Opening three paragraphs

  12. AirTrunk announces its second Melbourne campus ↗

    AirTrunk · checked 2026-09-22 · published 2025-12-24

    Opening paragraphs and Australian campus capacity list