Follow the computing power already available across Australia and New Zealand, from each operator’s portfolio to the individual sites and sources behind it.
Release published . Each capacity observation retains its own effective date.
Australia · DOCUMENTED OPERATING CAPACITY
≈ 1,096 MW
Operating computing power supported by site and operator disclosures.
696.95 MW allocated to named sites + 399.05 MW disclosed at portfolio level.
Sites already included in a portfolio are counted once. Observations retain their own dates; this is not a complete national census.
162 centres · Operational data centres in source inventory
Data Centres Australia and DC Byte estimate Australia had about 1.5 GW of operational IT capacity across 162 data centres at 31 March 2026. This provides a national market benchmark alongside the Atlas’s partial site-level evidence.
The national estimate is a separate benchmark. It is not added to the documented capacity above, whose coverage and observation dates differ.
Definition and scope
Operational capacity is the IT load supported by fitted-out halls available for use, not necessarily utilised capacity or live electricity demand. This rounded industry estimate has its own inventory and date. It is not an independently reconciled Atlas facility total and is never added to site subtotals or assigned to map pins.
Named-site capacity and the unallocated balance of documented operator portfolios form the total. An operator’s full portfolio is never added on top of its constituent sites.
DOCUMENTED OPERATING COMPUTING POWER
Australia
≈ 1,096 MW
Allocated to named sites
696.95 MW
Additional portfolio balance
399.05 MW
Contributing operators
8
Open an operator to see what contributes. Portfolio balances cover capacity already operating whose individual site allocation is not fully disclosed.
CDC1 site with allocated MW · 3 portfolio disclosures≈ 470 MW+
130 MW at named sites + 340 MW portfolio balance = 470 MW documented.
Approximately 130 MW of operating primary ICT capacity, derived from CDC’s Victorian regional total. Brooklyn is CDC’s only operating Victorian campus; the government confirms two operational facilities, while the September investor update places Laverton’s first opening in late FY27. The regional figure is rounded to the nearest 10 MW and is assigned once to the campus, without duplicating BK1 and BK2.
Operating leasable capacity: primary ICT capacity that is contractable or generating revenue. Source rounds each regional figure to the nearest 10 MW. This is capacity available for customers, not electricity consumption, contracted capacity or actual utilisation. Named-site capacity forms part of this portfolio total and is counted once.
Operating leasable capacity: primary ICT capacity that is contractable or generating revenue. Source rounds each regional figure to the nearest 10 MW. This is capacity available for customers, not electricity consumption, contracted capacity or actual utilisation. Named-site capacity forms part of this portfolio total and is counted once.
Operating leasable capacity: primary ICT capacity that is contractable or generating revenue. Source rounds each regional figure to the nearest 10 MW. This is capacity available for customers, not electricity consumption, contracted capacity or actual utilisation. Named-site capacity forms part of this portfolio total and is counted once.
FY26 built capacity at an operational facility: designed IT power of fitted-out halls, not measured electricity demand, utilisation or immediately available supply. The 68 MW built and 12 MW in-progress split comes from the FY26 results; the facility page supports the 80 MW overall specification only.
FY26 built capacity at an operational facility: designed IT power of fitted-out halls, not measured electricity demand, utilisation or immediately available supply.
FY26 built capacity at an operational facility: designed IT power of fitted-out halls, not measured electricity demand, utilisation or immediately available supply.
NEXTDC reported the final S2 data halls fitted out at 30 June 2021, bringing built capacity to 30 MW. Its current facility page continues to advertise 30 MW IT capacity. This is a historical installed-capacity observation, not a newly inferred commissioning date.
Historical fitted-out IT capacity derived from NEXTDC FY20: NSW built38 MW less S2 installed22 MW equals16 MW at S1. S3 was under development, with no built allocation. The current S1 operator specification remains16 MW IT. This allocation is part of the Australian NEXTDC portfolio total.
Historical fitted-out IT capacity derived from NEXTDC FY20: Victoria built25 MW less M2 installed10 MW equals15 MW at M1. M3 had not been built. The current M1 page advertises16 MW IT design capacity; the extra1 MW is not treated as installed without a dated fit-out disclosure. This allocation is part of the Australian NEXTDC portfolio total.
FY26 built capacity at an operational facility: designed IT power of fitted-out halls, not measured electricity demand, utilisation or immediately available supply.
FY26 built capacity at an operational facility: designed IT power of fitted-out halls, not measured electricity demand, utilisation or immediately available supply.
FY26 built capacity at an operational facility: designed IT power of fitted-out halls, not measured electricity demand, utilisation or immediately available supply.
FY26 built capacity at an operational facility: designed IT power of fitted-out halls, not measured electricity demand, utilisation or immediately available supply.
NEXTDC FY14 names B1 with2.25 MW built at30 June2014. The current B1 site specification remains2.25 MW IT. This is an established fitted-out allocation within the Australian NEXTDC portfolio total.
NEXTDC FY20 reports2 MW built in the ACT at30 June2020, when C1 was its only Canberra facility. This is fitted-out capacity, separate from the current4.4 MW site specification, and forms part of the Australian NEXTDC portfolio total.
Australian built capacity derived from 287.9 MW consolidated fitted-out capacity less 10 MW in Kuala Lumpur. The regional table rounds Australia to 278 MW. Built means designed power of fitted-out halls; further customer infrastructure can be required. Named-site allocations form part of this portfolio; the reconciliation adds only its remaining balance.
Conservative 121 MW IT lower bound for the completed SYD1 campus. The final building was completed in July 2022 at a reported 130 MW IT campus scale. The later platform announcement states 121+ MW, while the current campus page retains 130+ MW. Their difference is not explained. No hosted tenant or final phase is added separately.
Approximately 50 MW for the first two opened phases, derived from the operator 120+ MW campus total less its 70 MW final-two-phase expansion. Both earlier phases were already open in June 2023. Contemporaneous reporting identifies the campus electrical basis as IT load. This rounded derivation is separate from the completed 30 MW phase 3 increment; phase 4 is not assumed operational.
Only the third-phase 30 MW increment is evidenced here. AirTrunk confirms completion; contemporaneous DCD reporting explicitly identifies the same expansion as IT capacity. Neither source establishes that the whole 120+ MW campus was fitted out.
Installed IT capacity explicitly reported on the current operator page. Its effective date is unstated; this is not a historical commissioning observation.
Installed IT capacity explicitly reported on the current operator page. Its effective date is unstated; this is not a historical commissioning observation.
Installed IT capacity explicitly reported on the current operator page. Its effective date is unstated; this is not a historical commissioning observation.
Installed IT capacity explicitly reported on the current operator page. Its effective date is unstated; this is not a historical commissioning observation.
Installed IT capacity explicitly reported on the current operator page. Its effective date is unstated; this is not a historical commissioning observation.
Installed IT capacity explicitly reported on the current operator page. Its effective date is unstated; this is not a historical commissioning observation.
Installed IT capacity explicitly reported on the current operator page. Its effective date is unstated; this is not a historical commissioning observation.
Digital Realty0 sites with allocated MW · 2 portfolio disclosures≈ 39.6 MW+
0 MW at named sites + 39.6 MW portfolio balance = 39.6 MW documented.
Portfolio totals and remaining allocation
Digital Realty Sydney operating IT capacity
As at
Reported portfolio total
≈ 30 MW
Already allocated to sites
0 MW
Additional balance counted
30 MW
Operator reports 30 MW of operating white-space IT load in Sydney, at 100% share, rounded to whole MW. The investor table counts four data centres; the public profiles do not allocate the reported capacity among buildings. All known Sydney records are covered so any later named-site allocation is deducted, never added on top. No occupancy discount is applied: installed capacity includes available space.
Latest separately disclosed Melbourne white-space IT load: 9.6 MW at 31 December 2025 across two investor-report data centres. Later reports combine Melbourne with other APAC markets. Public MEL10/MEL11/MEL12 profiles do not establish how this operating figure is allocated; their design ratings cannot be added on top.
Macquarie commissioned environmental assessment states IC2 was operating at full capacity, unlike partially operating IC3 East. The operator identifies IC2 capacity as6 MW IT. This is allocated within the21 MW installed Australian portfolio, not added on top of it.
FY26 issuer presentation reports 21 MW installed across Macquarie Park, Canberra and Sydney CBD. IC3 SuperWest and METC are future additions, excluded from this installed figure. IT basis is supported by the presentation using additive 47 MW SuperWest IT capacity and the operator IT-load specifications; the 21 MW sentence itself says installed capacity, without repeating IT. Named-site allocations are included within the 21 MW portfolio, with only the unallocated balance additional to them.
The operator reports more than 14 MW operating at SY9x, distinct from the eventual >28 MW facility. Atlas interprets this as customer IT capacity from xScale’s commercial phase reporting, the operator’s IT-load terminology and the planning distinction between 45 MW gross and 30 MW IT design. This electrical-basis interpretation is inferred across sources, not a directly stated 14 MW IT specification. The separate 14 MW second phase remained under development at 30 June 2026.
Derived pre-existing ADL01 IT capacity: the operator states ADL02 adds 4 MW and the combined two-building Kidman Park campus reaches 5.4 MW total IT load. 5.4 minus 4 equals 1.4 MW. Counted once with the separate ADL02 increment.
0 MW at named sites + 80 MW portfolio balance = 80 MW documented.
Portfolio totals and remaining allocation
CDC New Zealand operating ICT capacity
As at
Reported portfolio total
≈ 80 MW
Already allocated to sites
0 MW
Additional balance counted
80 MW
Operating leasable capacity: primary ICT capacity that is contractable or generating revenue. Source rounds each regional figure to the nearest 10 MW. This is capacity available for customers, not electricity consumption, contracted capacity or actual utilisation. Named-site capacity forms part of this portfolio total and is counted once.
New Zealand sources also report facility power and built portfolio capacity. Those measures help describe the market, but their electrical definitions differ from the leasable IT figure above. They are shown separately.
Market capacityNew ZealandReported observation
New Zealand: 56 centres and 104 MW of deployable facility power
NZTech's 2025 report estimates 56 operating data centres and 104 MW of deployable whole-facility power, including cooling and support systems.
Deployable whole-facility power
≈ 104 MW facility power
2025 report; exact capacity date unstated
Operating centres in report inventory
56 centres
July 2025 location input
Evidence scope
National
Evidence as-of date
Applicable date not stated
How to read this: This is estimated power for the whole facility, not installed customer IT load. The report uses operator inputs and proxies, excludes duplicated leased colocation capacity, and has a different inventory and date from the Atlas. It cannot be added to or subtracted from the 2026 CDC ICT portfolio figure.
Executive summary: 56 data centres and 104 MW; New Zealand Data Centre Locations (July 2025 input); Understanding deployed capacity and appendix Calculating Current Deployable Capacity.
TenPeaks: over 23 MW built across 11 operating facilities
Spark reported over 23 MW built across the 11 operating facilities that were transferred to TenPeaks in January 2026.
Built portfolio capacity, electrical basis not stated
≥ 23 MW (basis unstated)
Spark sale disclosure, 2025; transferred January 2026
Evidence scope
Operator portfolio · TenPeaks
Evidence as-of date
2025-08-12
How to read this: The primary disclosure does not say that the 23 MW is IT load or that it is comparable with CDC's leasable primary ICT measure. South Takanini's 12.3 MW is inside this transferred estate, not additional. It is excluded from Atlas operating IT totals until the power boundary is documented.
Computing power, also called IT power, supplies servers, GPUs, storage and networking equipment. It describes the capacity available for that equipment, not current electricity use or how much is leased. Whole-building power also includes cooling and other overheads.
The totals combine dated disclosures, so they are not a complete census at a single point in time. ≈ marks approximate values; ≥ marks minimum disclosures. Operators without a comparable figure are not assigned zero. Portfolio balances appear here without being assigned to map pins.