NEXTDC · Australia
NEXTDC M3 Melbourne
Report an error or share evidence ↗
Melbourne, Victoria · facility
- Facility type
- colocation
- Location evidence
- Corroborated site location
- Research status
- Profile reviewed · 100% core-field coverage
Core-field coverage counts eight basic fields available in the Atlas. It is not an accuracy score or a measure of technical specification completeness. Individual evidence checks appear below.
Evidence by field
Evidence status applies to the named field and cited sources. “Not found” means those sources do not establish the fact; it does not establish absence.
- Identity Source checked
- The operator identifies NEXTDC M3 Melbourne. Certification and location evidence are described separately.Checked 2026-09-11 · NEXTDC ↗ · NEXTDC ↗
- Capacity Source checked
- FY26 built capacity at an operational facility: designed IT power of fitted-out halls, not measured electricity demand, utilisation or immediately available supply. FY26 mechanical and electrical fit-out in progress; not commissioned capacity.Checked 2026-09-22 · NEXTDC ↗ · NEXTDC ↗ · NEXTDC, ASX announcement ↗
- Status Source checked
- Dated development-table lifecycle is used. A target completion date or stale website navigation label does not establish commissioning.Checked 2026-09-11 · NEXTDC ↗
- Address Source checked
- Published street address checked against the cited primary source. Unit or floor is retained where supplied.Checked 2026-09-11 · NEXTDC ↗
- Coordinates Source checked
- Exact house number 25, Indwe Street, West Footscray matches NEXTDC. A registry result at number 27 was not used. Numbered address/building matched through OpenStreetMap; not a surveyed boundary or guaranteed entrance. Data © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL 1.0).Checked 2026-09-11 · NEXTDC ↗ · OpenStreetMap contributors ↗
- Certification Source checked
- NEXTDC, Melbourne 3: only the named Certified Strategic enclave. This is not certification of the whole building or its MW.Checked 2026-09-22 · Australian Government, Department of Home Affairs ↗
25 Indwe Street, West Footscray, VIC, 3012
Checked 2026-09-11 · Site coordinates verified
Exact house number 25, Indwe Street, West Footscray matches NEXTDC. A registry result at number 27 was not used. Numbered address/building matched through OpenStreetMap; not a surveyed boundary or guaranteed entrance. Data © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL 1.0).
Open this address in maps ↗Opening & commissioning history
- 2022-10 · Stage 1 opened
Operator history records the opening month. The current capacity was not necessarily installed at this date; no MW is inferred from the opening event.
Capacity & development
Power for servers, GPUs, storage & networking (IT power) · Source as of 2026-06-30
FY26 built capacity at an operational facility: designed IT power of fitted-out halls, not measured electricity demand, utilisation or immediately available supply.
Power for servers, GPUs, storage & networking (IT power) · Source as of 2026-06-30
FY26 mechanical and electrical fit-out in progress; not commissioned capacity.
Historical capacity evidence
Values recorded at the time. These observations are separate from current capacity claims.
Selected report-date observation of total designed IT power in fitted-out halls. Customer-specific investment may still be required. This disclosure date is not the commissioning date. No earlier annual values are inferred.
Selected report-date observation of total designed IT power in fitted-out halls. Customer-specific investment may still be required. This disclosure date is not the commissioning date. No earlier annual values are inferred.
Government certification
Certified Strategic enclave
NEXTDC, Melbourne 3: only the named Certified Strategic enclave. This is not certification of the whole building or its MW.
What certification covers →Scope and context
- West Footscray. The 225 MW ultimate plan is already represented by the two disclosed phases.
- Technical details reported by Data Center Map are shown separately from the Atlas's primary-source observations.
Compute, workloads & commercial commitments
Site-specific workloads, GPU inventory and customer contracts are not established by the cited evidence. Electrical capacity and AI-ready specifications alone do not establish these details.
Related operator-wide evidence
These disclosures describe the operator’s portfolio. They are not assigned to this facility or included in its power totals.
NEXTDC Australian fitted-out capacity: 277.9 MW
NEXTDC reports 287.9 MW consolidated built capacity at 30 June 2026, including 10 MW at Kuala Lumpur. The derived Australian portfolio is 277.9 MW. Named-site evidence allocates 273.45 MW within this portfolio.
- Australian fitted-out capacity
- 277.9 MW IT 30 June 2026
- Evidence scope
- Operator portfolio · NEXTDC
- Evidence as-of date
- 2026-06-30
How to read this: Built capacity is the designed power of fitted-out halls. Customer infrastructure may require further investment. The regional table rounds Australia to 278 MW. Named-site capacity is deducted before the remaining portfolio balance is counted.
Inspect the source
- NEXTDC FY26 Results Presentation ↗
NEXTDC · checked 2026-09-11 · published 2026-08-27
PDF pp 4–6 (contracted, billing and forward order book), p 18 (built/in-progress table and definitions; visually checked), pp 30–32 (named development rows)
Sharon AI GPU service in three NEXTDC east-coast facilities
NEXTDC's customer story states Sharon AI established its NVIDIA DGX-based GPU service in three Tier IV east-coast facilities. Workload examples include fraud detection, weather mapping, genome research and low-latency inference.
- Reported NEXTDC facility footprint
- 3 facilities Undated customer story reviewed 2026-09-11
- Evidence scope
- Operator portfolio · NEXTDC
- Evidence as-of date
- Applicable date not stated
- Workloads described
- Inference · High-performance computing
- Hardware disclosed
- NVIDIA DGX (model unspecified) (quantity not disclosed)
How to read this: Facility codes, individual GPU models, GPU counts and contracted MW are not disclosed. Do not attach this deployment to three guessed site records.
Inspect the source
- SharonAI customer story ↗
NEXTDC · checked 2026-09-11
The solution (three east-coast facilities); The benefits (inference); company introduction (NVIDIA DGX)
Evidence trail
- NEXTDC data centre network ↗
NEXTDC · checked 2026-09-10
Australia and New Zealand facility list; lifecycle labels
- NEXTDC FY26 Results Presentation ↗
NEXTDC · checked 2026-09-10 · published 2026-08-27
Pages 18 and 30–32; page 18 footnotes 2–3 define in-progress and built capacity
- NEXTDC M3 facility ↗
NEXTDC · checked 2026-09-10
IT capacity, location and facility description
- Certified Service Providers ↗
Australian Government, Department of Home Affairs · checked 2026-09-22
Data Centre facilities: Certified Strategic Facility and Certified Strategic Enclave lists
- Data Centres Australia | Tier III & IV for 100% Uptime ↗
NEXTDC · checked 2026-09-11
Australian and New Zealand facility directory; specification cards and lifecycle labels
- NEXTDC FY26 Results Presentation ↗
NEXTDC · checked 2026-09-11 · published 2026-08-27
PDF pp 4–6 (contracted, billing and forward order book), p 18 (built/in-progress table and definitions; visually checked), pp 30–32 (named development rows)
- NEXTDC Sydney technical specifications: national facility addresses ↗
NEXTDC · checked 2026-09-11
Page 3 national facility address panel; page 5 Sydney locations
- NEXTDC M3 Melbourne: numbered address map feature ↗
OpenStreetMap contributors · checked 2026-09-11
Nominatim exact-address result; node 12419413360; house_number 25; latitude -37.8035123, longitude 144.8654833. Checked 11 September 2026.
- NEXTDC - M3 Melbourne: directory profile and specifications ↗
Data Center Map · checked 2026-09-11
Public listing 9407; location, overview, specs tabs. Address/location header and labelled technical specification rows.
- Hosting Certification Framework: Certified Service Providers ↗
Australian Government, Department of Home Affairs · checked 2026-09-22
Data Centre facilities: Certified Strategic Facility and Certified Strategic Enclave lists; reform notice
- NEXTDC FY26 Results Announcement ↗
NEXTDC, ASX announcement · checked 2026-09-22 · published 2026-08-27
Development activity: capacity progressed at 30 June 2026; named NSW and Victoria increments; M5 up-to IT capacity
- NEXTDC company history ↗
NEXTDC · checked 2026-09-11
Dated opening entries for B1, M1, C1, S1, P1, B2, M2, SC1, S3 and M3
- NEXTDC FY25 Results Presentation: dated capacity observations ↗
NEXTDC · checked 2026-09-11 · published 2025-08-28
Pages 16 and 32-33; built capacity definition, M2/M3/S3/S6 observations