Datagrid · New Zealand
Datagrid Makarewa Data Centre Park
Report an error or share evidence ↗
Makarewa, Southland · campus
- Facility type
- hyperscale
- Location evidence
- Approximate city location
- Research status
- Profile reviewed · 88% core-field coverage
Core-field coverage counts eight basic fields available in the Atlas. It is not an accuracy score or a measure of technical specification completeness. Individual evidence checks appear below.
Evidence by field
Evidence status applies to the named field and cited sources. “Not found” means those sources do not establish the fact; it does not establish absence.
- Identity Source checked
- Single Makarewa campus: six halls across three modules. Do not count each hall/module as an independent campus.Checked 2026-09-11 · Southland District Council ↗ · Datagrid ↗
- Address Source checked
- The council identifies 342 and 370 Flora Road East, Makarewa. No latitude or longitude has been inferred.Checked 2026-09-11 · Southland District Council ↗
- Capacity Source checked
- Government confirms up to 240 MW IT consented maximum.Checked 2026-09-22 · Environment Southland ↗ · Southland District Council ↗
- Status Source checked
- Horizontal construction commenced according to the developer’s release dated 18 August 2026; the page label is 19 August. These are civil and platform works, not evidence of fitted-out halls or a quantitative IT phase allocation.Checked 2026-09-22 · Datagrid ↗
- Hardware Not found in checked sources
- No accelerator manufacturer/model/unit count found in the reviewed primary sources.Checked 2026-09-11 · Datagrid ↗ · Southland District Council ↗ · Datagrid ↗
- Workloads Source checked
- AI training, data processing and storage are explicit proposed uses; no live workload mix or explicit inference claim.Checked 2026-09-11 · Southland District Council ↗ · Environment Southland ↗
- Contracts Source checked
- Mercury 15-year 140 MW power purchase option is public. No public named compute tenant/offtake found in this source set.Checked 2026-09-11 · Datagrid ↗
342 and 370 Flora Road East, Makarewa, Southland
Checked 2026-09-11 · Map coordinates still to be verified
Approximate Makarewa locality point only. The exact facility coordinates remain unresolved; this point must not be used for facility navigation. Data © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL 1.0).
Open this address in maps ↗Capacity & development
Power for servers, GPUs, storage & networking (IT power) · Source as of 2026-03-13
Consented whole-campus design ceiling of up to 240 MW IT across six halls in three modules. Included only in the planning inventory, not in dated delivery or operating capacity. The 280 MW marketing headline is a different electrical boundary and is not added. The September 2026 Stage 2 notice does not allocate installed IT MW across the phases.
Proposed or approved design capacity. Included in the planning inventory, not a dated delivery forecast or a claim of committed supply.
Power for servers, GPUs, storage & networking (IT power) · Source as of 2026-08-18
Developer confirms horizontal works commenced, including access roads, road upgrades, site earthworks and a bund, with HEB teams on site. The foundation platform, cable landing station and substation were targeted for completion by the end of 2026. No commissioned data hall or allocated construction-phase IT MW is established.
Government certification
Australian HCF not applicable
Australia's Hosting Certification Framework does not apply to this New Zealand record.
What certification covers →Scope and context
- GPU inventory and compute customers remain unknown. Mercury agreement is an electricity price hedge option, not GPU demand or commissioning evidence.
- 28 July 2026 commencement notice concerns road realignment/upgrades/haul-road works only.
- Technical details reported by Data Center Map are shown separately from the Atlas's primary-source observations.
- Directory reconciliation: Directory supplies Flora Road East without the accepted 342/370 street numbers; retain accepted numbered address.
- HEB is delivering horizontal works for the 49-hectare campus. The developer announced teams on site in August 2026; a later council notice separately identifies Stage 2 development. The 240 MW IT consented ceiling remains a non-delivery campus envelope until phase allocations are published.
- Single 49-hectare campus with six halls across three modules. 280 MW marketing headline must not be added to 240 MW permitted IT.
- Council now publishes a Stage 2 datacentre development notice, form dated 4 September 2026, with works stated to start 14 September 2026 and HEB Construction identified. The notice does not establish that all 240 MW is under fit-out.
Compute, workloads & commercial commitments
Makarewa has consented capacity of up to 240 MW IT
Council and regional authority describe six data halls in three modules and up to 240 MW IT capacity for AI training, data processing and storage.
- Consented IT capacity ceiling
- ≤ 240 MW Evidence as of 2026-03-13
- Evidence scope
- Named facility · Datagrid
- Evidence as-of date
- 2026-03-13
How to read this: Consented whole-campus design maximum. Included once in the planned IT design inventory, not operating capacity or a dated installation forecast. Horizontal construction has commenced but its IT allocation is not disclosed; the 280 MW marketing boundary is not added.
Inspect 2 sources
- Datagrid resource consent and compliance register ↗
Southland District Council · checked 2026-09-11
Opening address; What is proposed; Compliance documents
- Datagrid NZ Partnership resource consents ↗
Environment Southland · checked 2026-09-11 · published 2026-03-13
Environment Southland resource consents; paragraph before consents list
Datagrid July 2026 notice covered road access works
Approved notice lists highway/Taylor Road realignment, road upgrade and haul-road construction, with a 28 July 2026 start.
- Evidence scope
- Named facility · Datagrid
- Evidence as-of date
- 2026-07-28
How to read this: This historical pre-start notice concerns roads, not fitted-out data halls. Later August developer evidence confirms horizontal works and a September Stage 2 notice covers datacentre development. None allocates the whole 240 MW to construction.
Inspect 2 sources
- Datagrid approved notice of commencement Stage 1 ↗
Southland District Council / Datagrid · checked 2026-09-11 · published 2026-07-20
Single-page form: Proposal; Work will start on; signature date
- Datagrid resource consent and compliance register ↗
Southland District Council · checked 2026-09-11
Opening address; What is proposed; Compliance documents
Datagrid signed a 140 MW electricity price-hedge option
March 2026 announcement describes a 15-year Power Purchase Option Agreement with Mercury,140 MW/1.2 TWh annually, providing a long-term electricity price hedge for the Southland campus.
- Power agreement size
- 140 MW Evidence as of 2026-03-18
- Agreement term
- 15 years Evidence as of 2026-03-18
- Annual energy under option
- 1.2 TWh per year
- Evidence scope
- Named facility · Datagrid
- Evidence as-of date
- 2026-03-18
- Workloads described
- Not specified in this evidence
How to read this: Power procurement/price hedge, not guaranteed live physical load, IT capacity or an AI customer offtake. March forecast of June construction is not evidence it started. Full project delivery 2028 is a target.
Inspect the source
- Datagrid and Mercury 140 MW Power Purchase Option Agreement ↗
Datagrid · checked 2026-09-11 · published 2026-03-18
Opening paragraphs; project delivery paragraph
Evidence trail
- Datagrid Data Centre Park ↗
Datagrid · checked 2026-09-11
Scalable Capacity; Delivering What is Next; Sustainable Data Centre Park
- Datagrid resource consent and compliance register ↗
Southland District Council · checked 2026-09-11
Opening address; What is proposed; Compliance documents
- Datagrid NZ Partnership resource consents ↗
Environment Southland · checked 2026-09-11 · published 2026-03-13
Environment Southland resource consents; paragraph before consents list
- Datagrid and Mercury 140 MW Power Purchase Option Agreement ↗
Datagrid · checked 2026-09-11 · published 2026-03-18
Opening paragraphs; project delivery paragraph
- Datagrid approved notice of commencement Stage 1 ↗
Southland District Council / Datagrid · checked 2026-09-11 · published 2026-07-20
Single-page form: Proposal; Work will start on; signature date
- Makarewa: approximate locality map reference ↗
OpenStreetMap contributors · checked 2026-09-11
node 973564713; named locality Makarewa, Southland; representative point -46.3285576, 168.3499430.
- Datagird Invercargill Campus: directory profile and specifications ↗
Data Center Map · checked 2026-09-11
Public listing 13320; location, overview, specs tabs. Address/location header and labelled technical specification rows.
- Datagrid NZ Partnership Limited - Resource Consents - Environment Southland ↗
Environment Southland · checked 2026-09-22 · published 2026-03-13
Resource consents granted; paragraph describing up to 240 MW of IT capacity
- Proposals of public interest | Southland District Council ↗
Southland District Council · checked 2026-09-22
What is proposed; Compliance documents: Stage 2
- Notice of Commencement of Work ↗
Southland District Council · checked 2026-09-22 · published 2026-09-04
Single-page Notice of commencement of work: Proposal, Work will start on, signature date
- Horizontal works begin on Datagrid’s AI data centre campus in Makarewa ↗
Datagrid · checked 2026-09-22 · published 2026-08-18
Press release dateline 18 August 2026; opening paragraph; horizontal works scope; foundation platform paragraph