Skip to content
← Back to the atlas

Project Ares, Murranji Station: facility evidence profile

Energy North · Australia

Project Ares, Murranji Station

Report an error or share evidence ↗

Murranji Station, NT · campus

Planned
Facility type
hyperscale
Location evidence
Location not mapped
Research status
Profile reviewed · 75% core-field coverage

Core-field coverage counts eight basic fields available in the Atlas. It is not an accuracy score or a measure of technical specification completeness. Individual evidence checks appear below.

Evidence by field

Evidence status applies to the named field and cited sources. “Not found” means those sources do not establish the fact; it does not establish absence.

Identity Source checked
Energy North Pty Ltd is the named proponent for the Murranji Station campus.Checked 2026-09-11 · Energy North ↗ · Australian Government EPBC Public Portal, proponent Energy North Pty Ltd ↗
Coordinates Not found in checked sources
A precise campus coordinate was not established in the primary sources reviewed. No city or estate centroid is presented as an exact site pin.Checked 2026-09-11 · Energy North ↗ · Australian Government EPBC Public Portal, proponent Energy North Pty Ltd ↗
Capacity Source checked
The signed decision specifies approximately 1 GW of IT capacity for one integrated campus. Generation, battery storage and the nested first phase are not additional IT capacity.Checked 2026-09-22 · National Environmental Protection Agency ↗
Status Source checked
EPBC 2026/10560 was determined to be a controlled action on 4 September 2026. Assessment and approval are required before it can proceed; this is not project approval.Checked 2026-09-22 · National Environmental Protection Agency ↗
Workloads Source checked
Developer positions the campus for AI, cloud and high-performance computing; no training/inference split is specified.Checked 2026-09-11 · Energy North ↗
Contracts Not found in checked sources
No named tenant, contracted IT allocation or GPU procurement quantity was identified.Checked 2026-09-11 · Energy North ↗ · Australian Government EPBC Public Portal, proponent Energy North Pty Ltd ↗

Capacity & development

Planned≈ 1,000 MW

Power for servers, GPUs, storage & networking (IT power) · Source as of 2026-09-04

Approximately 1 GW IT is the proposed full-campus design; Phase 1 of approximately 500 MW is nested within that total. The signed EPBC decision of 4 September 2026 identifies a controlled action requiring assessment and approval before the project can proceed. No final approval, FID or absolute delivery date is established.

Proposed or approved design capacity. Included in the planning inventory, not a dated delivery forecast or a claim of committed supply.

Government certification

Certification not verified

No verified certification scope has been assigned to this record. Unknown does not mean uncertified.

What certification covers →

Scope and context

  • One integrated hyperscale campus at Murranji Station in the Barkly Region, co-located with Project Sol. This is not an additional Firmus Southgate site.
  • The full-build 1 GW IT is commissioned in two phases, approximately 500 MW then the balance. Those phases are components, not an extra 1 GW.
  • The 3 GWp solar, 16 GWh BESS, up to 1,038 MW gas and long-term 5 GW-plus expansion potential are distinct measures and do not increase the accepted 1 GW planned IT claim.
  • Major Project Status or an environmental referral does not constitute project approval. The developer schedules Phase 1 power 12-18 months after FID; no absolute commissioning year is established.
  • Technical details reported by Data Center Map are shown separately from the Atlas's primary-source observations.
  • The signed federal referral decision is dated 4 September 2026 and requires assessment and approval under the EPBC Act for listed threatened and migratory species. The portal’s rendered decision table and project-status fields remain incomplete; no missing UI status is inferred.

Compute, workloads & commercial commitments

Facility specificationAustraliaAnnouncement

Project Ares plans one 1 GW IT campus in two phases

Energy North and its EPBC referral both describe a full-build 1 GW IT campus at Murranji Station. The referral identifies approximately 500 MW for Phase 1 and the remainder for Phase 2.

Proposed full-build campus IT capacity
1,000 MW IT
full build, no absolute date
Phase 1 within the 1 GW total
≈ 500 MW IT
first commissioning phase, no absolute date
Evidence scope
Named facility · Energy North
Evidence as-of date
Applicable date not stated

How to read this: The phases are components of the 1 GW campus and are never added on top. It is proposed capacity subject to approvals, funding and FID; the 12-18 month interval after FID does not establish a calendar opening year.

Inspect 2 sources
Link to this evidence ↗
Facility specificationAustraliaAnnouncement

Project Ares has a separate proposed generation and storage system

The campus proposal includes off-grid solar generation, battery storage and gas generation. These energy assets support the IT load but are separate electrical and energy measures.

Solar generation nameplate
≈ 3,000 MWp
full-build proposal
Battery storage energy
≈ 16 GWh
full-build proposal
Gas generation for firming and backup
≤ 1,038 MW
full-build proposal
Evidence scope
Named facility · Energy North
Evidence as-of date
Applicable date not stated

How to read this: MWp generation and GWh stored energy are not MW IT. Do not sum these measures into data centre capacity or present them as currently installed.

Inspect 2 sources
Link to this evidence ↗
Explore demand, compute types and commitments →

Evidence trail

  1. Project Ares: hyperscale data centre and renewable energy ↗

    Energy North · checked 2026-09-11

    Top facts: IT capacity, Development stage and Target Phase 1 Power; Technical Configuration and Project Status

  2. Project Ares: EPBC referral project description ↗

    Australian Government EPBC Public Portal, proponent Energy North Pty Ltd · checked 2026-09-11

    Summary: Project description, first two paragraphs and principal components list; reference f4f8aae0-956b-f111-ab0b-000d3aca9bcb

  3. Project Ares: directory profile and specifications ↗

    Data Center Map · checked 2026-09-11

    Public listing 18223; overview, specs tabs. Address/location header and labelled technical specification rows.

  4. Project Ares: notification of referral decision, controlled action (EPBC 2026/10560) ↗

    National Environmental Protection Agency · checked 2026-09-22 · published 2026-09-04

    Single-page signed decision: Proposed Action, controlled-action status and date of decision