Skip to content
← Back to the atlas

Firmus Bell Bay AI Factory: facility evidence profile

Firmus · Australia

Firmus Bell Bay AI Factory

Report an error or share evidence ↗

Bell Bay, TAS · campus

Planned
Facility type
hyperscale
Location evidence
Approximate city location
Research status
Profile reviewed · 50% core-field coverage

Core-field coverage counts eight basic fields available in the Atlas. It is not an accuracy score or a measure of technical specification completeness. Individual evidence checks appear below.

Evidence by field

Evidence status applies to the named field and cited sources. “Not found” means those sources do not establish the fact; it does not establish absence.

Hardware Not found in checked sources
No installed site-specific model/quantity verified. GB300 Tasmania programme and Melbourne contracts cannot be allocated by inference.Checked 2026-09-11 · Firmus ↗ · Firmus ↗
Contracts Not found in checked sources
No public compute customer contract tied to this exact physical site found in the reviewed sources. Gunvor is an energy agreement and OpenAI is Malaysia-only.Checked 2026-09-11 · Firmus ↗ · Firmus ↗ · Firmus ↗
Capacity Source checked
Not an IT figure. Site approval claim from secondary reporting still needs current council verification.Checked 2026-09-22 · Firmus ↗
Published street address

Lot 1 East Tamar Highway, Long Reach, TAS

Checked 2026-09-11 · Map coordinates still to be verified

Approximate Bell Bay locality point only. The exact facility coordinates remain unresolved; this point must not be used for facility navigation. Data © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL 1.0).

Open this address in maps ↗

Capacity & development

PlannedNot disclosed

Power basis not established

Proposed campus on former Gunns Pulp Mill land; two halls counted once. 288 MW grid demand excluded from IT subtotals.

Government certification

Certification not verified

No verified certification scope has been assigned to this record. Unknown does not mean uncertified.

What certification covers →

Scope and context

  • Proposed campus on former Gunns Pulp Mill land; two halls counted once. 288 MW grid demand excluded from IT subtotals.
  • Technical details reported by Data Center Map are shown separately from the Atlas's primary-source observations.

Compute, workloads & commercial commitments

Workload capabilityAustraliaAdvertised capability

Bell Bay is designed for frontier-model training

The proposed Bell Bay project describes training and running frontier models, approximately 288 MW maximum grid demand and a direct-to-chip cooling architecture supporting NVIDIA GB300 and Vera Rubin.

Maximum grid demand
≈ 288 MW
Undated specification; checked 11 September 2026
Evidence scope
Named facility · Firmus
Evidence as-of date
Applicable date not stated
Workloads described
Model training
Hardware disclosed
NVIDIA GB300 (quantity not disclosed); NVIDIA Vera Rubin (quantity not disclosed)

How to read this: Hardware models are design compatibility, not an order, delivery or installation. No IT-load conversion or GPU quantity is supported.

Inspect the source
Link to this evidence ↗
Facility specificationAustraliaReported observation

Firmus Bell Bay AI Factory: disclosed development boundary

Not an IT figure. Site approval claim from secondary reporting still needs current council verification.

Electricity connection capacity
≈ 288 MW (grid-demand)
Whole Bell Bay/George Town site; proposed envelope
Evidence scope
Named facility · Firmus
Evidence as-of date
Applicable date not stated

How to read this: This observation has its own electrical and physical boundary. It is not an additional contribution to the comparable IT subtotal, a GPU count or a delivery forecast. Not an IT figure. Site approval claim from secondary reporting still needs current council verification.

Inspect the source
Link to this evidence ↗
Related operator-wide evidence

These disclosures describe the operator’s portfolio. They are not assigned to this facility or included in its power totals.

Commercial commitmentAustraliaContracted

South Australia energy agreement covers 600 MW of load

Firmus reports a 12-year electricity supply agreement signed in June 2026 for its first South Australian AI factories and names Gunvor Group.

Electricity agreement load
600 MW
Evidence as of 2026-06
Agreement duration
12 years
Evidence as of 2026-06
Evidence scope
Operator portfolio · Firmus
Evidence as-of date
2026-06
Workloads described
Not specified in this evidence

How to read this: This is power procurement, not a compute customer/offtake contract. The source does not allocate 600 MW between sites or identify it as IT load. Existing 1000/1300 MW campus IT envelopes remain approval-dependent.

Inspect the source
Link to this evidence ↗
Compute deploymentAustraliaReported observation

Firmus reports an operating Australian AI factory

September 8 statement identifies two operational sites across the portfolio, one in Australia and one in Singapore.

Operational Australian site stated at country level
1 site
Evidence as of 2026-09-08
Evidence scope
Operator portfolio · Firmus
Evidence as-of date
2026-09-08
Workloads described
Not specified in this evidence

How to read this: Australian site is not named in this passage. The disclosure does not prove Launceston, Bell Bay or Wesley Vale has opened; it must not create a second physical record for a hosted CDC deployment.

Inspect the source
Link to this evidence ↗
Explore demand, compute types and commitments →

Evidence trail

  1. Firmus Bell Bay AI Factory project ↗

    Firmus · checked 2026-09-11

    Project FAQ: site, buildings and power

  2. Firmus Bell Bay industrial precinct project FAQ ↗

    Firmus · checked 2026-09-11

    What is the project; Will it use a lot of energy; How does the cooling system work

  3. Firmus signs multi-year agreement with global hyperscale customer ↗

    Firmus · checked 2026-09-11 · published 2026-03-02

    Opening paragraphs and paragraph before About Firmus

  4. Firmus adds OpenAI as anchor customer and expands into Malaysia ↗

    Firmus · checked 2026-09-11 · published 2026-09-08

    Sydney /8 September 2026; opening paragraphs; Australian engineering section

  5. Bell Bay: approximate locality map reference ↗

    OpenStreetMap contributors · checked 2026-09-11

    relation 10579569; named locality Bell Bay, Tasmania; representative point -41.1314240, 146.8657946.

  6. Firmus George Town Campus: directory profile and specifications ↗

    Data Center Map · checked 2026-09-11

    Public listing 18086; location, overview, specs tabs. Address/location header and labelled technical specification rows.

  7. Bell Bay Industrial Precinct AI Factory Project - Firmus ↗

    Firmus · checked 2026-09-22

    Will it use a lot of energy; What is the project