Firmus · Australia
Firmus Launceston AI Factory
Report an error or share evidence ↗
Launceston, TAS · campus
- Facility type
- hyperscale
- Location evidence
- Approximate city location
- Research status
- Profile reviewed · 50% core-field coverage
Core-field coverage counts eight basic fields available in the Atlas. It is not an accuracy score or a measure of technical specification completeness. Individual evidence checks appear below.
Evidence by field
Evidence status applies to the named field and cited sources. “Not found” means those sources do not establish the fact; it does not establish absence.
- Hardware Not found in checked sources
- No installed site-specific model/quantity verified. GB300 Tasmania programme and Melbourne contracts cannot be allocated by inference.Checked 2026-09-11 · Firmus ↗ · Firmus ↗
- Contracts Not found in checked sources
- No public compute customer contract tied to this exact physical site found in the reviewed sources. Gunvor is an energy agreement and OpenAI is Malaysia-only.Checked 2026-09-11 · Firmus ↗ · Firmus ↗ · Firmus ↗
- Capacity Source checked
- No evidenced fit-out allocation means 84 MW cannot all be labelled operating or construction.Checked 2026-09-22 · Firmus ↗
Capacity & development
Power basis not established
Current hub explicitly labels the anchor site under construction. Separate older R&D equipment is not an extra physical-site record.
Government certification
Certification not verified
No verified certification scope has been assigned to this record. Unknown does not mean uncertified.
What certification covers →Scope and context
- Current hub explicitly labels the anchor site under construction. Separate older R&D equipment is not an extra physical-site record.
- Technical details reported by Data Center Map are shown separately from the Atlas's primary-source observations.
Compute, workloads & commercial commitments
Launceston discloses 84 MW critical IT design capacity
Southgate names Launceston and 84 MW Critical IT Load; the Tasmania hub labels its anchor site under construction.
- Disclosed campus critical IT envelope
- 84 MW Undated specification; checked 11 September 2026
- Evidence scope
- Named facility · Firmus
- Evidence as-of date
- Applicable date not stated
How to read this: No commissioned IT quantity, phase-by-phase fit-out or full 84 MW construction boundary is established. Do not turn this envelope into operating or fully fitted construction MW.
Inspect 2 sources
- Firmus Southgate infrastructure ↗
Firmus · checked 2026-09-11
Southgate Tasmania: Location and Capacity
- Firmus Tasmania community hub ↗
Firmus · checked 2026-09-11
Three sites, one region
Related operator-wide evidence
These disclosures describe the operator’s portfolio. They are not assigned to this facility or included in its power totals.
South Australia energy agreement covers 600 MW of load
Firmus reports a 12-year electricity supply agreement signed in June 2026 for its first South Australian AI factories and names Gunvor Group.
- Electricity agreement load
- 600 MW Evidence as of 2026-06
- Agreement duration
- 12 years Evidence as of 2026-06
- Evidence scope
- Operator portfolio · Firmus
- Evidence as-of date
- 2026-06
- Workloads described
- Not specified in this evidence
How to read this: This is power procurement, not a compute customer/offtake contract. The source does not allocate 600 MW between sites or identify it as IT load. Existing 1000/1300 MW campus IT envelopes remain approval-dependent.
Inspect the source
- Firmus South Australia community hub ↗
Firmus · checked 2026-09-11
Our South Australian Projects; Policy in Action; Project Approvals
Firmus reports an operating Australian AI factory
September 8 statement identifies two operational sites across the portfolio, one in Australia and one in Singapore.
- Operational Australian site stated at country level
- 1 site Evidence as of 2026-09-08
- Evidence scope
- Operator portfolio · Firmus
- Evidence as-of date
- 2026-09-08
- Workloads described
- Not specified in this evidence
How to read this: Australian site is not named in this passage. The disclosure does not prove Launceston, Bell Bay or Wesley Vale has opened; it must not create a second physical record for a hosted CDC deployment.
Inspect the source
- Firmus adds OpenAI as anchor customer and expands into Malaysia ↗
Firmus · checked 2026-09-11 · published 2026-09-08
Sydney /8 September 2026; opening paragraphs; Australian engineering section
Evidence trail
- Firmus Tasmania community hub ↗
Firmus · checked 2026-09-11
Three sites, one region
- Firmus Southgate infrastructure ↗
Firmus · checked 2026-09-11
Southgate Tasmania: Location and Capacity
- Firmus signs multi-year agreement with global hyperscale customer ↗
Firmus · checked 2026-09-11 · published 2026-03-02
Opening paragraphs and paragraph before About Firmus
- Firmus adds OpenAI as anchor customer and expands into Malaysia ↗
Firmus · checked 2026-09-11 · published 2026-09-08
Sydney /8 September 2026; opening paragraphs; Australian engineering section
- Firmus Launceston: directory profile and specifications ↗
Data Center Map · checked 2026-09-11
Public listing 15428; overview, specs tabs. Address/location header and labelled technical specification rows.
- Southgate - Firmus ↗
Firmus · checked 2026-09-22
Southgate Tasmania: Location and Capacity
- Natural Earth populated places, 1:10m ↗
Natural Earth · checked 2026-09-10
Australia and New Zealand populated-place features
- Firmus Tasmania community hub ↗
Firmus · checked 2026-09-11
Three sites, one region