Skip to content
← Back to the atlas

Firmus Tailem Bend AI Factory: facility evidence profile

Firmus · Australia

Firmus Tailem Bend AI Factory

Report an error or share evidence ↗

Tailem Bend, SA · campus

Planned
Facility type
hyperscale
Location evidence
Approximate city location
Research status
Profile reviewed · 63% core-field coverage

Core-field coverage counts eight basic fields available in the Atlas. It is not an accuracy score or a measure of technical specification completeness. Individual evidence checks appear below.

Evidence by field

Evidence status applies to the named field and cited sources. “Not found” means those sources do not establish the fact; it does not establish absence.

Hardware Not found in checked sources
No installed site-specific model/quantity verified. GB300 Tasmania programme and Melbourne contracts cannot be allocated by inference.Checked 2026-09-11 · Firmus ↗ · Firmus ↗
Contracts Not found in checked sources
No public compute customer contract tied to this exact physical site found in the reviewed sources. Gunvor is an energy agreement and OpenAI is Malaysia-only.Checked 2026-09-11 · Firmus ↗ · Firmus ↗ · Firmus ↗
Capacity Source checked
Already included. Approximately 1200 MW planned connection is a different enclosing boundary.Checked 2026-09-22 · Firmus ↗

Capacity & development

Planned≈ 1,000 MW

Power for servers, GPUs, storage & networking (IT power)

Approximate ultimate critical IT load, subject to planning approval. Undated full-build-out plan; no commissioning year or construction assertion. Power connection MW is not added.

Proposed or approved design capacity. Included in the planning inventory, not a dated delivery forecast or a claim of committed supply.

Government certification

Certification not verified

No verified certification scope has been assigned to this record. Unknown does not mean uncertified.

What certification covers →

Scope and context

  • Approximate ultimate critical IT load, subject to planning approval. Undated full-build-out plan; no commissioning year or construction assertion. Power connection MW is not added.
  • Technical details reported by Data Center Map are shown separately from the Atlas's primary-source observations.
  • Directory reconciliation: Public directory gives only the Tailem Bend area off the Princes Highway; it supplies no exact street address or precise location verification.
  • Directory reconciliation: The public publisher withholds exact location. This match uses named identity only and does not use hidden embedded coordinates or addresses.

Compute, workloads & commercial commitments

Site-specific workloads, GPU inventory and customer contracts are not established by the cited evidence. Electrical capacity and AI-ready specifications alone do not establish these details.

Related operator-wide evidence

These disclosures describe the operator’s portfolio. They are not assigned to this facility or included in its power totals.

Commercial commitmentAustraliaContracted

South Australia energy agreement covers 600 MW of load

Firmus reports a 12-year electricity supply agreement signed in June 2026 for its first South Australian AI factories and names Gunvor Group.

Electricity agreement load
600 MW
Evidence as of 2026-06
Agreement duration
12 years
Evidence as of 2026-06
Evidence scope
Operator portfolio · Firmus
Evidence as-of date
2026-06
Workloads described
Not specified in this evidence

How to read this: This is power procurement, not a compute customer/offtake contract. The source does not allocate 600 MW between sites or identify it as IT load. Existing 1000/1300 MW campus IT envelopes remain approval-dependent.

Inspect the source
Link to this evidence ↗
Compute deploymentAustraliaReported observation

Firmus reports an operating Australian AI factory

September 8 statement identifies two operational sites across the portfolio, one in Australia and one in Singapore.

Operational Australian site stated at country level
1 site
Evidence as of 2026-09-08
Evidence scope
Operator portfolio · Firmus
Evidence as-of date
2026-09-08
Workloads described
Not specified in this evidence

How to read this: Australian site is not named in this passage. The disclosure does not prove Launceston, Bell Bay or Wesley Vale has opened; it must not create a second physical record for a hosted CDC deployment.

Inspect the source
Link to this evidence ↗
Explore demand, compute types and commitments →

Evidence trail

  1. Firmus South Australia community hub ↗

    Firmus · checked 2026-09-11

    Our South Australian Projects; Project Approvals

  2. Firmus South Australia community hub ↗

    Firmus · checked 2026-09-11

    Our South Australian Projects; Policy in Action; Project Approvals

  3. Firmus signs multi-year agreement with global hyperscale customer ↗

    Firmus · checked 2026-09-11 · published 2026-03-02

    Opening paragraphs and paragraph before About Firmus

  4. Firmus adds OpenAI as anchor customer and expands into Malaysia ↗

    Firmus · checked 2026-09-11 · published 2026-09-08

    Sydney /8 September 2026; opening paragraphs; Australian engineering section

  5. Tailem Bend: approximate locality map reference ↗

    OpenStreetMap contributors · checked 2026-09-11

    relation 7071383; named locality Tailem Bend, South Australia; representative point -35.2529335, 139.4533779.

  6. Firmus Tailem Bend: directory profile and specifications ↗

    Data Center Map · checked 2026-09-11

    Public listing 18121; overview, specs tabs. Address/location header and labelled technical specification rows.

  7. South Australia Community Hub - Firmus ↗

    Firmus · checked 2026-09-22

    Our South Australian Projects; Tailem Bend; Stirling North; Project Approvals