Firmus · Australia
Firmus Wesley Vale AI Factory
Report an error or share evidence ↗
Wesley Vale, TAS · campus
- Facility type
- hyperscale
- Location evidence
- Approximate city location
- Research status
- Profile reviewed · 63% core-field coverage
Core-field coverage counts eight basic fields available in the Atlas. It is not an accuracy score or a measure of technical specification completeness. Individual evidence checks appear below.
Evidence by field
Evidence status applies to the named field and cited sources. “Not found” means those sources do not establish the fact; it does not establish absence.
- Hardware Not found in checked sources
- No installed site-specific model/quantity verified. GB300 Tasmania programme and Melbourne contracts cannot be allocated by inference.Checked 2026-09-11 · Firmus ↗ · Firmus ↗
- Contracts Not found in checked sources
- No public compute customer contract tied to this exact physical site found in the reviewed sources. Gunvor is an energy agreement and OpenAI is Malaysia-only.Checked 2026-09-11 · Firmus ↗ · Firmus ↗ · Firmus ↗
- Address Source checked
- The operator identifies 226 Mill Road, Wesley Vale as the proposed project address. Exact coordinates have not been verified.Checked 2026-09-11 · Firmus ↗
- Capacity Source checked
- Later approximately 46 WM is an unresolved printed unit; do not silently correct it.Checked 2026-09-22 · Firmus ↗
226 Mill Road, Wesley Vale, TAS
Checked 2026-09-11 · Map coordinates still to be verified
Approximate Wesley Vale locality point only. The exact facility coordinates remain unresolved; this point must not be used for facility navigation. Data © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL 1.0).
Open this address in maps ↗Capacity & development
Power for servers, GPUs, storage & networking (IT power)
The planned initial stage explicitly discloses 23 MW critical IT load inside approximately 26 MW electrical capacity. No dated delivery is established. The later electrical maximum is approximately 52 MW; its IT figure is printed as 46 WM, so that later stage is held for clarification and is not added.
Government certification
Certification not verified
No verified certification scope has been assigned to this record. Unknown does not mean uncertified.
What certification covers →Scope and context
- Planned facility on former pulp mill land. 26 MW connection rating excluded from IT capacity subtotals.
- The initial planned stage is 23 MW critical IT. The 26 MW electrical connection is an enclosing boundary, not additional server power.
- Technical details reported by Data Center Map are shown separately from the Atlas's primary-source observations.
Compute, workloads & commercial commitments
Wesley Vale discloses an initial 23 MW critical IT stage
The planned project describes 26 MW initial electrical capacity containing 23 MW critical IT, with a later 52 MW electrical maximum.
- Initial critical IT load
- 23 MW Undated specification; checked 11 September 2026
- Initial electrical capacity
- ≈ 26 MW Undated specification; checked 11 September 2026
- Maximum electrical capacity
- ≈ 52 MW Undated specification; checked 11 September 2026
- Evidence scope
- Named facility · Firmus
- Evidence as-of date
- Applicable date not stated
How to read this: Later IT figure is printed as approximately 46 WM, an apparent unit typo. Hold this figure for clarification; initial 23 MW is inside the ultimate project and cannot be added to 46. Text says train and run frontier models, not evidence of installed GPUs or current inference service.
Inspect the source
- Firmus Wesley Vale project FAQ ↗
Firmus · checked 2026-09-11
Will it use a lot of energy
Related operator-wide evidence
These disclosures describe the operator’s portfolio. They are not assigned to this facility or included in its power totals.
South Australia energy agreement covers 600 MW of load
Firmus reports a 12-year electricity supply agreement signed in June 2026 for its first South Australian AI factories and names Gunvor Group.
- Electricity agreement load
- 600 MW Evidence as of 2026-06
- Agreement duration
- 12 years Evidence as of 2026-06
- Evidence scope
- Operator portfolio · Firmus
- Evidence as-of date
- 2026-06
- Workloads described
- Not specified in this evidence
How to read this: This is power procurement, not a compute customer/offtake contract. The source does not allocate 600 MW between sites or identify it as IT load. Existing 1000/1300 MW campus IT envelopes remain approval-dependent.
Inspect the source
- Firmus South Australia community hub ↗
Firmus · checked 2026-09-11
Our South Australian Projects; Policy in Action; Project Approvals
Firmus reports an operating Australian AI factory
September 8 statement identifies two operational sites across the portfolio, one in Australia and one in Singapore.
- Operational Australian site stated at country level
- 1 site Evidence as of 2026-09-08
- Evidence scope
- Operator portfolio · Firmus
- Evidence as-of date
- 2026-09-08
- Workloads described
- Not specified in this evidence
How to read this: Australian site is not named in this passage. The disclosure does not prove Launceston, Bell Bay or Wesley Vale has opened; it must not create a second physical record for a hosted CDC deployment.
Inspect the source
- Firmus adds OpenAI as anchor customer and expands into Malaysia ↗
Firmus · checked 2026-09-11 · published 2026-09-08
Sydney /8 September 2026; opening paragraphs; Australian engineering section
Evidence trail
- Firmus Wesley Vale AI Factory project ↗
Firmus · checked 2026-09-11
Project FAQ: site and electricity connection
- Firmus Wesley Vale project FAQ ↗
Firmus · checked 2026-09-11
Will it use a lot of energy
- Firmus signs multi-year agreement with global hyperscale customer ↗
Firmus · checked 2026-09-11 · published 2026-03-02
Opening paragraphs and paragraph before About Firmus
- Firmus adds OpenAI as anchor customer and expands into Malaysia ↗
Firmus · checked 2026-09-11 · published 2026-09-08
Sydney /8 September 2026; opening paragraphs; Australian engineering section
- Wesley Vale: approximate locality map reference ↗
OpenStreetMap contributors · checked 2026-09-11
relation 10586172; named locality Wesley Vale, Tasmania; representative point -41.1899052, 146.4551371.
- Firmus Wesley Vale: directory profile and specifications ↗
Data Center Map · checked 2026-09-11
Public listing 18089; location, overview, specs tabs. Address/location header and labelled technical specification rows.
- Wesley Vale AI Factory Project - Firmus ↗
Firmus · checked 2026-09-22
Will it use a lot of energy