Skip to content
← Back to the atlas

NEXTDC GE1 Geelong: facility evidence profile

NEXTDC · Australia

NEXTDC GE1 Geelong

Report an error or share evidence ↗

Geelong, Victoria · facility

Under constructionPlanned
Facility type
edge
Location evidence
Approximate city location
Research status
Profile reviewed · 75% core-field coverage

Core-field coverage counts eight basic fields available in the Atlas. It is not an accuracy score or a measure of technical specification completeness. Individual evidence checks appear below.

Evidence by field

Evidence status applies to the named field and cited sources. “Not found” means those sources do not establish the fact; it does not establish absence.

Identity Source checked
The operator identifies NEXTDC GE1 Geelong. Certification and location evidence are described separately.Checked 2026-09-11 · NEXTDC ↗ · NEXTDC ↗
Capacity Source checked
The issuer announcement specifically dates 1 MW IT in progress to 30 June 2026. Other stage values retain their separately cited scope and dates; this is not commissioned capacity.Checked 2026-09-22 · NEXTDC, ASX announcement ↗ · NEXTDC ↗
Status Source checked
Dated development-table lifecycle is used. A target completion date or stale website navigation label does not establish commissioning.Checked 2026-09-11 · NEXTDC ↗

Capacity & development

Under construction≈ 1 MW

Power for servers, GPUs, storage & networking (IT power) · 2027 target · Source as of 2026-06-30

Approximately 1 MW initial fit-out. Practical completion target 2HFY27 means January–June 2027; it is not evidence of opening.

Planned≈ 3 MW

Power for servers, GPUs, storage & networking (IT power)

FY26 site appendix gives approximately 4 MW total planned IT and approximately 1 MW initial capacity. The 3 MW residual is a disjoint remaining design after subtracting the included initial construction phase. The initial phase target does not date this remainder.

Proposed or approved design capacity. Included in the planning inventory, not a dated delivery forecast or a claim of committed supply.

Government certification

Certification not verified

No verified certification scope has been assigned to this record. Unknown does not mean uncertified.

What certification covers →

Scope and context

  • Corio. Facility page lists 4.4 MW ultimate IT capacity; FY26 rounds the total plan to approximately 4 MW. Neither is represented as live capacity or added to the initial phase.
  • Technical details reported by Data Center Map are shown separately from the Atlas's primary-source observations.
  • City map markers are approximate. No exact facility coordinates have been verified.
  • Remaining design is separated from the initial construction phase: 4 minus 1 equals 3 MW. No completion date is assigned to the remainder.

Compute, workloads & commercial commitments

Facility specificationAustraliaReported observation

GE1 subsea-connectivity construction

The FY26 p 18 development update links 1 MW in progress at GE1 to new or contracted submarine-cable infrastructure.

In-progress capacity
1 MW
FY26 results published 2026-08-27
Evidence scope
Named facility · NEXTDC
Evidence as-of date
2026-08-27

How to read this: The selected disclosure does not identify a compute offtake customer or GPU inventory. Cable infrastructure is distinct from a GPU training deployment; the phase is already included in physical capacity.

Inspect the source
  • NEXTDC FY26 Results Presentation ↗

    NEXTDC · checked 2026-09-11 · published 2026-08-27

    PDF pp 4–6 (contracted, billing and forward order book), p 18 (built/in-progress table and definitions; visually checked), pp 30–32 (named development rows)

Link to this evidence ↗
Related operator-wide evidence

These disclosures describe the operator’s portfolio. They are not assigned to this facility or included in its power totals.

Facility specificationAustraliaReported observation

NEXTDC Australian fitted-out capacity: 277.9 MW

NEXTDC reports 287.9 MW consolidated built capacity at 30 June 2026, including 10 MW at Kuala Lumpur. The derived Australian portfolio is 277.9 MW. Named-site evidence allocates 273.45 MW within this portfolio.

Australian fitted-out capacity
277.9 MW IT
30 June 2026
Evidence scope
Operator portfolio · NEXTDC
Evidence as-of date
2026-06-30

How to read this: Built capacity is the designed power of fitted-out halls. Customer infrastructure may require further investment. The regional table rounds Australia to 278 MW. Named-site capacity is deducted before the remaining portfolio balance is counted.

Inspect the source
  • NEXTDC FY26 Results Presentation ↗

    NEXTDC · checked 2026-09-11 · published 2026-08-27

    PDF pp 4–6 (contracted, billing and forward order book), p 18 (built/in-progress table and definitions; visually checked), pp 30–32 (named development rows)

Link to this evidence ↗
Compute deploymentAustraliaReported observation

Sharon AI GPU service in three NEXTDC east-coast facilities

NEXTDC's customer story states Sharon AI established its NVIDIA DGX-based GPU service in three Tier IV east-coast facilities. Workload examples include fraud detection, weather mapping, genome research and low-latency inference.

Reported NEXTDC facility footprint
3 facilities
Undated customer story reviewed 2026-09-11
Evidence scope
Operator portfolio · NEXTDC
Evidence as-of date
Applicable date not stated
Workloads described
Inference · High-performance computing
Hardware disclosed
NVIDIA DGX (model unspecified) (quantity not disclosed)

How to read this: Facility codes, individual GPU models, GPU counts and contracted MW are not disclosed. Do not attach this deployment to three guessed site records.

Inspect the source
  • SharonAI customer story ↗

    NEXTDC · checked 2026-09-11

    The solution (three east-coast facilities); The benefits (inference); company introduction (NVIDIA DGX)

Link to this evidence ↗
Explore demand, compute types and commitments →

Evidence trail

  1. NEXTDC data centre network ↗

    NEXTDC · checked 2026-09-10

    Australia and New Zealand facility list; lifecycle labels

  2. NEXTDC FY26 Results Presentation ↗

    NEXTDC · checked 2026-09-10 · published 2026-08-27

    Pages 18 and 30–32; page 18 footnotes 2–3 define in-progress and built capacity

  3. NEXTDC GE1 facility ↗

    NEXTDC · checked 2026-09-10

    IT capacity, location and facility description

  4. Data Centres Australia | Tier III & IV for 100% Uptime ↗

    NEXTDC · checked 2026-09-11

    Australian and New Zealand facility directory; specification cards and lifecycle labels

  5. NEXTDC FY26 Results Presentation ↗

    NEXTDC · checked 2026-09-11 · published 2026-08-27

    PDF pp 4–6 (contracted, billing and forward order book), p 18 (built/in-progress table and definitions; visually checked), pp 30–32 (named development rows)

  6. NEXTDC - GE1 Geelong: directory profile and specifications ↗

    Data Center Map · checked 2026-09-11

    Public listing 17054; location, overview, specs tabs. Address/location header and labelled technical specification rows.

  7. Natural Earth populated places, 1:10m ↗

    Natural Earth · checked 2026-09-10

    Australia and New Zealand populated-place features

  8. NEXTDC FY26 Results Announcement ↗

    NEXTDC, ASX announcement · checked 2026-09-22 · published 2026-08-27

    Development activity: capacity progressed at 30 June 2026; named NSW and Victoria increments; M5 up-to IT capacity