Skip to content
← Back to the atlas

NEXTDC S7 Sydney: facility evidence profile

NEXTDC · Australia

NEXTDC S7 Sydney

Report an error or share evidence ↗

Sydney, New South Wales · facility

Planned
Facility type
colocation
Location evidence
Approximate city location
Research status
Profile reviewed · 63% core-field coverage

Core-field coverage counts eight basic fields available in the Atlas. It is not an accuracy score or a measure of technical specification completeness. Individual evidence checks appear below.

Evidence by field

Evidence status applies to the named field and cited sources. “Not found” means those sources do not establish the fact; it does not establish absence.

Identity Source checked
The operator identifies NEXTDC S7 Sydney. Certification and location evidence are described separately.Checked 2026-09-11 · NEXTDC ↗ · NEXTDC ↗ · NEXTDC ↗
Capacity Source checked
Existing accepted scope values match the named FY26 development disclosures: planned 550 MW IT. Built means designed power of fitted-out halls; no ultimate-campus amount is added to its included phases.Checked 2026-09-11 · NEXTDC ↗
Status Source checked
Dated development-table lifecycle is used. A target completion date or stale website navigation label does not establish commissioning.Checked 2026-09-11 · NEXTDC ↗
Hardware Not found in checked sources
This facility page does not disclose an installed GPU inventory with model and count. AI-ready or NVIDIA programme capability is not a hardware inventory.Checked 2026-09-11 · NEXTDC ↗
Contracts Source checked
OpenAI MoU announced 2025-12-05. This review does not establish a binding capacity lease, contract MW or GPU quantities.Checked 2026-09-11 · NEXTDC ↗

Capacity & development

Planned≥ 550 MW

Power for servers, GPUs, storage & networking (IT power)

FY26 target approximately 550 MW or more, subject to development approval; design and town planning. FY26 presentation says development is ready to start subject to development approval; no construction commencement is inferred.

Proposed or approved design capacity. Included in the planning inventory, not a dated delivery forecast or a claim of committed supply.

Government certification

Certification not verified

No verified certification scope has been assigned to this record. Unknown does not mean uncertified.

What certification covers →

Scope and context

  • Eastern Creek; an announced development target is not built supply.
  • Technical details reported by Data Center Map are shown separately from the Atlas's primary-source observations.
  • Directory reconciliation: Public directory gives only the Eastern Creek area west of Sydney; it supplies no exact street address or precise location verification.
  • Directory reconciliation: The public publisher withholds exact location. This match uses named identity only and does not use hidden embedded coordinates or addresses.
  • City map markers are approximate. No exact facility coordinates have been verified.

Compute, workloads & commercial commitments

Commercial commitmentAustraliaAnnouncement

OpenAI and NEXTDC S7 memorandum of understanding

The 5 December 2025 announcement describes a MoU for a planned S7 hyperscale AI campus and GPU supercluster at Eastern Creek, with a first-phase delivery expectation in July–December 2027 subject to approvals.

Evidence scope
Named facility · NEXTDC
Evidence as-of date
2025-12-05
Workloads described
Not specified in this evidence

How to read this: A MoU is not proof of a binding MW offtake agreement or an operating GPU deployment. No phase MW, GPU model or count is disclosed. Do not assign all 550 MW of the S7 plan to the 2027 first phase. OpenAI's Australian enterprise customers named in the article are not identified as S7 tenants.

Inspect the source
Link to this evidence ↗
Related operator-wide evidence

These disclosures describe the operator’s portfolio. They are not assigned to this facility or included in its power totals.

Facility specificationAustraliaReported observation

NEXTDC Australian fitted-out capacity: 277.9 MW

NEXTDC reports 287.9 MW consolidated built capacity at 30 June 2026, including 10 MW at Kuala Lumpur. The derived Australian portfolio is 277.9 MW. Named-site evidence allocates 273.45 MW within this portfolio.

Australian fitted-out capacity
277.9 MW IT
30 June 2026
Evidence scope
Operator portfolio · NEXTDC
Evidence as-of date
2026-06-30

How to read this: Built capacity is the designed power of fitted-out halls. Customer infrastructure may require further investment. The regional table rounds Australia to 278 MW. Named-site capacity is deducted before the remaining portfolio balance is counted.

Inspect the source
  • NEXTDC FY26 Results Presentation ↗

    NEXTDC · checked 2026-09-11 · published 2026-08-27

    PDF pp 4–6 (contracted, billing and forward order book), p 18 (built/in-progress table and definitions; visually checked), pp 30–32 (named development rows)

Link to this evidence ↗
Compute deploymentAustraliaReported observation

Sharon AI GPU service in three NEXTDC east-coast facilities

NEXTDC's customer story states Sharon AI established its NVIDIA DGX-based GPU service in three Tier IV east-coast facilities. Workload examples include fraud detection, weather mapping, genome research and low-latency inference.

Reported NEXTDC facility footprint
3 facilities
Undated customer story reviewed 2026-09-11
Evidence scope
Operator portfolio · NEXTDC
Evidence as-of date
Applicable date not stated
Workloads described
Inference · High-performance computing
Hardware disclosed
NVIDIA DGX (model unspecified) (quantity not disclosed)

How to read this: Facility codes, individual GPU models, GPU counts and contracted MW are not disclosed. Do not attach this deployment to three guessed site records.

Inspect the source
  • SharonAI customer story ↗

    NEXTDC · checked 2026-09-11

    The solution (three east-coast facilities); The benefits (inference); company introduction (NVIDIA DGX)

Link to this evidence ↗
Explore demand, compute types and commitments →

Evidence trail

  1. NEXTDC data centre network ↗

    NEXTDC · checked 2026-09-10

    Australia and New Zealand facility list; lifecycle labels

  2. NEXTDC FY26 Results Presentation ↗

    NEXTDC · checked 2026-09-10 · published 2026-08-27

    Pages 18 and 30–32; page 18 footnotes 2–3 define in-progress and built capacity

  3. NEXTDC S7 facility ↗

    NEXTDC · checked 2026-09-10

    IT capacity, location and facility description

  4. Data Centres Australia | Tier III & IV for 100% Uptime ↗

    NEXTDC · checked 2026-09-11

    Australian and New Zealand facility directory; specification cards and lifecycle labels

  5. S7 Sydney ↗

    NEXTDC · checked 2026-09-11

    Named facility main description and IT design specification

  6. NEXTDC FY26 Results Presentation ↗

    NEXTDC · checked 2026-09-11 · published 2026-08-27

    PDF pp 4–6 (contracted, billing and forward order book), p 18 (built/in-progress table and definitions; visually checked), pp 30–32 (named development rows)

  7. NEXTDC to Join OpenAI in Australia as an Infrastructure Partner ↗

    NEXTDC · checked 2026-09-11 · published 2025-12-05

    Dated ASX announcement; National Infrastructure Partnership and S7 Hyperscale Campus sections

  8. NEXTDC - S7 Sydney: directory profile and specifications ↗

    Data Center Map · checked 2026-09-11

    Public listing 12458; overview, specs tabs. Address/location header and labelled technical specification rows.

  9. Natural Earth populated places, 1:10m ↗

    Natural Earth · checked 2026-09-10

    Australia and New Zealand populated-place features